Managing a Place, Membership

Difference between a Manager and a Member

  • Manager is a member of a Place that has full administrative control over a Place; they can invite and add Members; create additional Places; and adjust the settings of a Place. In a Place that they administer, Managers will have a throne icon associated with their profile pictures.
  • Member is a user invited or added to a Place, becoming its Member. Members’ activity level and capabilities in a Place depend on the settings of a Place adjusted by the Manager(s).
  • Good to know: Managers are not necessarily the original creators of the Place. You can be promoted to become a Manager, or demoted from your managerial position to become an ordinary Member.

Changing the Member positions

Members can be promoted to become Managers; demoted from their managerial position to become ordinary Members; and removed entirely from a Place by its Manager(s).

Promoting a Member

If you are the Manager of a Place, you can promote a Member to become a fellow Manager. We encourage you to consider whom you promote to become a Manager carefully, because a Manager can delete an entire Place with all its data without the consent of a fellow Manager.

  • 1. Go to the Place wherein you want to promote a Member or multiple Members.
  • 2. Click on More Options drop-down menu that presides on the upper-right corner of the page.
  • 3. Choose Place settings.
  • 4. Scroll down to the Members section and choose the Member you want to promote.
  • 5. Click on the More options drop-down menu that presides next to the name of the user.
  • 6. Choose Promote from the drop-down menu.
    • Their position will be elevated to one of a Manager and this will be demonstrated in front of their name.

    Demoting a Member

    • 1. From the Place settings of a Place as demonstrated above, choose the Member you want to demote from Manager to Member.
    • 2. Click on the More options drop-down menu that presides next to the name of the user.
    • 3. Choose Demote from the drop-down menu.
    • Their position will be lowered from a Manager to an ordinary Member and this will be demonstrated by taking away their Manager title and the throne icon.

    Removing a Member

    • 1. From the Place settings of a Place as demonstrated above, choose the Member you want to remove from the Place.
    • 2. Click on the More options drop-down menu that presides next to the name of the user.
    • 3. Choose Demote from the drop-down menu.

    They will be removed from the Place immediately without further notice or warning.